The costs associated with even a first-time DWI conviction tend to be incredibly high, and that’s if there’s no crash. The costs of additional convictions will obviously skyrocket. Fortunately, you can avoid a DUI or DWI conviction. The tips provided here from DUI attorneys are guaranteed to help you save thousands of dollars.
Learn how impaired drivers are identified by law enforcement. Many of these driving behaviors would simply be ignored if observed during daytime. The risk of being pulled over on suspicion of impaired driving tends to be higher at night. It increases considerably between midnight and 4:00 a.m. and tends to jump really high on holidays, particularly when it is dark.
It is also important to learn what attorneys recommend that you should do if you are ever stopped on suspicion of DUI or DWI. Drivers sometimes also record interactions with police on their smartphones if pulled over by police.
What Are the Costs Associated with a DUI or DWI?
The exact costs typically associated with a first DWI conviction vary considerably. It depends on the circumstances, state, the effectiveness of the defense attorney, the judge, and numerous other factors.
For instance, the estimated cost in New York is $9,500. In North Carolina it is $4,820, while in Illinois it is $14,660. According to a survey conducted by the Texas Department of Transportation, the average cost ranges between $9,000 and $24,000. It ranges between $6,140 and $19,450 in California.
Still, there are other expenses. For instance, insurance rates typically rise after a DWI conviction. If it is a teen driver, it can be as much as $40,000 over 13 years. Conviction may mean job loss or being unable to get one, particularly if it involves driving a vehicle.
Not all costs actually involve money. Inconvenience, embarrassment, time spent in “DWI school”, time spent in jail, etc. are all non-monetary costs associated with a DUI or DWI.
Tips for Avoiding a DWI or DUI
If you must drink, ensure that your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is low. Here are some tips for doing exactly that:
– Remember that typical drinks of spirit, wine, and beer contain a similar amount of pure alcohol and are all the same to a breathalyzer.
– Keep in mind that breathalyzers aren’t highly reliable. So, always ensure that your BAC is far lower than the maximum legal limit.
– Use a personal alcohol breath tester. However, it might be less accurate compared to those used by law enforcement. That’s why you need to stay below the legal limit.
– Take into consideration the fact that your BAC will continue to rise even after you have stopped drinking.
– Your BAC drops about .015 each hour after it peaks. It will take about 3.33 hours for a BAC of .05 to drop to .00. (.05 ÷ 0.15 = 3.33) It will about 5.33 for a BAC of .08 to drop to .00. (.08 ÷ 0.15 = 5.33) The body also produces alcohol round-the-clock (24/7).
– Always nibble on something (munchies or food) while you are drinking.
– Delay having your first drink containing alcohol if you are at a gathering.
– Always pace your alcoholic drink intake. To keep your BAC low, take no more than 1 every hour.
– Sip and savor drinks as opposed to gulping them.
– Always take non-alcoholic drinks between your alcoholic drinks.
– Avoid playing drinking games.
– Be wary of punches or even drinks in unusual size or shape containers. You cannot tell how much alcohol they contain, which can make it harder to pace them.
– You can still be charged with DUI/DWI even if your BAC is legal. So, avoid getting pulled over. Always keep your vehicle in proper working condition. Always obey all the traffic laws. A bad tail light is an invitation to be stopped. Don’t make rolling stops, always signal when changing lanes, etc. Be polite if you are pulled over.
– Not drinking is a foolproof way to avoid a DUI or DWI. The other one is using a designated driver.
If you follow the tips, information, and advice provided here, you can avoid a DUI or DWI along with the headaches and expenses associated with it.